And I Fell In Love…

I didn’t want any of this; never wanted to fall in love.

I didn’t want to fall weak.

I didn’t want to fall in love. 

But then, when you smiled a smile that touched your eyes, 

I fell in love with that smile.

When you looked at me as I rambled about my day,

I fell in love with that potent gaze.

When I stood at the bus stop, waiting,

And a baritone whisper caught me from the back-

As it said, “Good morning.”

I fell in love with that voice.

When we walked by the beach as the Sun sang romantic ballads

And the waves hummed its tune,

And you repeated a step to fall in step with me,

I fell in love with that pace.

When I added salt instead of sugar by mistake while making tea,

And you drank it in one gulp and just simply asked for another cup,

I fell in love with that silent encouragement.

When we were waiting in line at the shopping mall,

And you started playing with the baby in the pram behind us,

I fell in love with that subtleness.

When I animate my frustration and you listen to me

With your chin resting casually on your palm,

I fell in love with that patience.

When I forgot to have lunch and you walked in

With the arched eyebrows of an archer’s bow,

I fell in love with that scolding.

When you crack a cheeky joke which echoed in your eyes,

I fell in love with that mischief I saw.

When you gave me your arm to entangle mine into,

When I wore heels the first time,

I fell in love with that grip.

When you drummed the table with your knuckles

To a melody of your dream,

I fell in love with that music.

When we exchange words of silence

Through the mere feeling of each other’s presence,

I fell in love with that understanding.

When I saw you dance to the rhythm of your heart beat,

I fell in love with that dedication.

When you’d throw passive tantrums of mood swings,

I fell in love with those flaws.

There’s a difference in knowing things about someone

And knowing someone.

And with every moment of knowing you, I fell in love

Like the way life breathes; steadily and subconsciously.

And I fell in love…

With you.

Leave a Reply

