Wild Rose

Broken petals;

Insomniac nights;

Drenched pillows;

Silent wails.

The full moon painted

The black walls with silver

Throwing light

Upon the cold body

Scrunched up on the carpet

Hugging the knees

As the hazels of the eyes turned paler.

Neon touches and,

Pastel whispers

You blended into my life

Like the colours of a painting

Making a door on my walls

To walk right through the great fort –

My great fort.

Cold coffee and,

Steaming tea

We drank toasts of life

On simple joys

Walking aimlessly

Through the singing streets

Or silent alleys

Lacing our fingers together

As we breathed in the city

And the thrill of the unknown turn

Waiting for a dead end

Just to take another turn;

Another path.

I was an open book

With the cover of knots

Knots you untangled

To read me,

Just to leave me more tangled.

Your burning words of love

That were like hearts of coal,

Pumping warmth through my veins

Only to leave my heart in ashes.

Diaries filled;

Letters written,

Literary fuel gushed.

An illusion of laughter,

An ache that cracked the soul

Like the barren lands

Of the desert

That was once a grassland

With the winds of memories

Spreading the cold

Of what was,

As the broken pieces reminded the heart

It wasn’t allowed to feel what it once felt

And what it yearned to still feel.

I wanted to reek of hatred

A lie my soul couldn’t don,

Cradling the past

In the sweetness of honey

Leaving smiles that touched the eyes

With the dimples of grief.

Broken petals;

Insomniac nights;

Drenched pillows;

Silent wails.

As I broke under the masks

Of normalcy

Wanting to be held

By you

Only to break a bit more

As the broken edges cut in the realization

That sometimes

Even dreams hurt.

2 thoughts on “Wild Rose”

  1. I have a confession to make. I nominated you:
    http://beehalton.com/2016/01/ive-written-this-in-my-eleventh-hour-or.html

    I awarded you because I believe you have an excellent blog and I want to introduce it to my readers. This award is great for that.

    But I also know that awards are a lot of work, and they do not fit in every blog. So feel free to take part if it tempts you and if not go on to what you do best: Your blog!!!!!!

    Hope you enjoy either way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

