Un-Love

I walk through the alleys;

Alleys that whisper memories into my ears,

Entwining a cold warmth with my heart.

It’s funny how these memories work.

They fill my emptiness

With another vacuum

I don’t know how this works,

Do you?

These memories

That I cradle in all endearment.

Except now, I cradle an empty cot

With the ghost of memories,

Echoing off the walls of my soul.

My soul that you imprinted on,

Reminding me of you;

Of a time I once lived;

Of a love I once had.

I don’t know how this works,

Do you?

For I stand here,

Under the dome of love

That I walked into holding your hand.

But while I learnt how to choose to love you,

You forgot to teach me,

How to un-love you.

Leave a Reply

