Stay

Stay, they told me

Every relation goes through bad times

You can’t just give up

And leave, they said.

Stay, they told me.

As my body was the canvas

Of blues and blacks.

As my face was hidden

Under layers of foundation.

Stay, they told me

This too shall pass,

As he tore my soul apart

Whipping my mind,

And burning my heart,

As I made the slightest mistake.

Stay, they told me

Think about the baby, they said.

I touched the still

Flat surface of my belly.

They called it the fruit

Of our love…

Love, I scoffed.

A love that ripped me apart;

That showed the shadows

The light cast;

That reeked of ego,

Brutality and pain.

And yet,

Stay, they told me.

For the sake of my baby;

For the sake of its future.

A father’s love is needed

Stay, they told me

But what love do they vouch for?

I rather not show my child

A demon in the name of paternity

Than the wrath under his dome.

Stay, they told me

But stay, I shall not.

For the sake of sanity;

Of love and,

Everything beautiful.

For the sake of my child,

Who has yet to live a life

That shall not see the shadow

The light casts

But bask in the light

To vouch for.

Leave a Reply

