Terms And Conditions

I’ll rub my eyes

And tell you

I slept late last night

When you ask me

About them being red.

I’ll smile at the

Jokes you crack

Over ice tea

In the coffee house

Although

All I heard

Was your laugh.

I’ll call in lazy

When you speak

Of the new Chinese restaurant

At walking distance,

And promise you

Of another time.

And with each

Passing frame,

I’ll give you answers

Poisoned with normalcy.

So when you ask me

How I am,

I’ll look you in the eye

And tell you

I’m fine.

When you ask me

How I am,

As I’m curled up

On the floor

At times odd and even,

With welled eyes

And broken beats,

I’ll tell you

I’m fine

Because that’s all

You’re conditioned

To want to hear.

Leave a Reply

